Calliope

This morning I was reminded that there is more beauty in this world than social media can capture. Like most people, I woke up this morning and checked my Facebook newsfeed to get my daily dose of my friends idealized lives. After which, It took me a half an hour to get ready, throw on some jewelry forged to look like feathers, and find a Portland chic outfit just to grab my coffee and today’s paper.

Stepping out my back door, there is the biggest red rose bush that has managed to stay alive despite the Summer heat and drought. I saw very fast movement among the flowers and was taken aback to realize this wasn’t just a small bird, this was a hummingbird! Before today, I had never seen a hummingbird in real life. Stunned, I stood there stock still trying to see what flower this little bird would flit to next but like most things in life and nature, something unexpected happened. The bird took notice of me too although I was trying not to disturb him. He flew to my left side, assessing me to see where I would go next. For what could only have been thirty seconds, but felt like an eternity I stood, he hovered, and we just stared at each other.

Quickly, the bird flew towards my face and brushed my cheek with his insanely fast wings as he flew over the rooftops to go save other flowers from the drought. I have never felt anything so amazing. This one moment which may have lasted a total of 45 seconds is one of the top five moments of my life. I wasn’t able to instagram it or post about it on facebook because it was quick, beautiful, and just for me. I’m writing about it here for myself just so I don’t forget. Had I tried to take out my phone and get a picture for social media this hummingbird would have flown away and I would have missed out on one of the best feelings I’ve ever had.

caliope


Leave a comment